Chicken with Bacon, Mushrooms and Peas

Image

My favourite dinners are ones that are quick, really delicious and leave enough for lunch the next day. This is one of those dishes. I tend to eat low-carb at night, it just seems to work with my body better especially with sleep and getting up in the morning. Eating low-carb means that I fill up on protein and LOTS of vegetables.

The night before I took this photo, I served it with steamed broccoli and carrot. I had leftovers so for lunch I made a little salad. Here is the recipe.

Chicken with Bacon, Mushrooms and Peas

Makes 6 serves

  • 6 chicken thighs (I use skinless cutlets)
  • 200g bacon, diced
  • 400g sliced mushrooms
  • 100g peas
  • 250g Philadelphia cooking cream (I use light)
  • 1 TBS wholegrain mustard

Season and brown the chicken pieces in a little olive oil over a high heat. Set aside. Fry the bacon and mushrooms until cooked and add the chicken pieces back in. Stir in the cooking cream and the mustard. Simmer until the chicken is mostly cooked, and add the peas for the last few minutes so it gently steams without being overcooked.

Serve with steamed veggies and salad. Comes to 370 calories per serve (approximate). 

Leave a Reply

