Omelettes! Tips & Tricks

Image

I am egg obsessed. They are tasty, healthy, protein-packed bundles of awesome. I love their versatility too; fried, poached, scrambled, omelettes and a base for sauces and curds. They taste great with so many different flavours both savoury and sweet. I could talk about eggs all day! This post is all about omelettes. They are one of my favourite breakfasts because they are quick and easy, and I am ALL about that. So how do you make a successful omelette? Let me share some tips with you…

  1. Whisk the eggs with a splash of water, rather than milk
  2. Pour the eggs into a saucepan on medium-heat so it doesn’t cook the bottom too quickly. Swirl it around, turn the temperature low and put a lid on it.
  3. The water in the eggs will “steam” and the omelette will be gorgeous and fluffy!
  4. Cook your filling first, set aside and then stuff the omelette and fold over.
  5. When making an omelette for one, use at least 2 eggs so it’s not too delicate and will fold over without breaking.
  6. The more eggs you use, the bigger the frypan. If you have too many eggs it probably won’t cook on the stovetop so shove the pan under the grill for a few minutes to cook the top.

My favourite fillings for omelettes:

  • Smoked salmon with sauteed baby spinach and tomato
  • Ham and cheese
  • Sauteed mushrooms and baby spinach
  • Sauteed mushrooms, chorizo and tomatoes

The possiblities are endless! I love serving my omelettes with a side salad for a bit of fresh crunch.

IMG_2429

Image

2 responses to “Omelettes! Tips & Tricks

  1. Your photos are so vibrant! And your omelettes are gorgeous 🙂 I really should make omelettes more often, I’ve forgotten how simple and delicious they are.

  2. I am also obsessed with EGGS!! ❤

Leave a Reply

